[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Update only one column  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Author Message
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 330
Location: Germany
Offline

How do I accomplish to update only one columne in Jaikoz?
I tried it to uncheck the columns in the Edit view, which should not updated anymore, but as a result these columns were updated too.
So after I updated the songs, I unchecked all columns, which should not be updated, but this can't be the best method.

using Jaikoz 9.3.0 NGS
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7417
Offline

Unchecking columns in the drop down to the right of the table columns just relates to what you can see. not what gets modified.

Need to change the settings in Preferences : Musicbrainz : AutoFormat & AutoFormat 2 for Musicbrainz updates and Preferences : Remote : Discogs for Discogs updates.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 330
Location: Germany
Offline

Paul,
I thought about that too, but when I change the Preference in this way, I can't remember the settings, when I want my previous settings back.

One solution were to backup settings.jai, but to restore this, I had to shutdown jaikoz and copy the old backup settings.jai to it's original place and start jaikoz again.

A better solution were in the menu File -> Save Preference with a file dialogue-box to save the settings.jai under a new name
and menu File -> Restore Preference.
So we can change the Preference on the fly without shutdown/starting Jaikoz

using Jaikoz 9.3.0 NGS
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7417
Offline

I think thats going to be too much for most people, and you still have the hassle of going in changing/selecting preferences and then using them.

Would your particular problem be solved by adding another column header menu item (currently we have one Empty Column) called 'Update from Musicbrainz' that would just update all listed rows in selected column from Musicbrainz, could add to the context menu 'Update selected Fields from Musicrbainz' which only updated the selected cells, regardless of the options set in AutoFormat.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 330
Location: Germany
Offline

Yes, this would solve my problem.
But for a complete solution for this problem there should be another context menu 'Update selected Fields from Discogs' and maybe for Amazone etc.

So I like the idea better to have more preferences files (setting.jai) which I would give speaking names and change the Preference on the fly without shutdown/starting Jaikoz.

In the meantime I update the songs and then I unchecked all columns, which should not be updated.

Just seen, this suggestion is on the wishlist from @pschonmann Upating only selected colums

using Jaikoz 9.3.0 NGS
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team