[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Question on Save and Copy/Move  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Author Message
guyp2k

Enthusiast

Joined: 21/03/2016 11:10:39
Messages: 11
Offline

When I load up my files and select "Auto Correct, file and Folder Correct, and Delete Duplicates" and select "Save" all seems to work fine. As soon as I select Save and Move/Copy the duplicates are still there - seems I am missing something between Save and Save and Copy/Move. To me they are the same but from application perspective they are not I can't seem to determine what I am missing.

Thanks
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7299
Offline

If Delete Duplicates worked and Save was done then the file should be deleted. Subsequent Save and Copy or Save and Move would have no effect, but of course the difference between Save and Move and Save and Copy is that copy makes copies of the files rather than moving them potentially recreating duplicates.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
guyp2k

Enthusiast

Joined: 21/03/2016 11:10:39
Messages: 11
Offline

Here are the steps that I am taking:
Load up songs/file
Ctrl 1 (Action - AutoCorrect)
Ctrl 9 (Action - File and Folder Correct - Correct Sub Folders From Metadata)
Floppy appears under "Status" Coloumn, whats does that indicate?
Ctrl 0 (Action - Delete Duplicates)
Here is where things go south, if I click Save all works as expected, the folders, files, and duplicates are corrected under the initial folder/directory.
When I select Save and Copy instead of Save, the application copies the entire folder, files, and DUPLICATES to the copy destination when I expect the application to behave as above when selecting Save. I woul expect the application to copy the folder to the corect destination selected with out the duplicates, but it does not.
So my qustion, when using the Save and Copy as opposed to just Save is there another step that I am missing?

Ultimately once the changes are made and saved I would like to make a copy to specified directory other than the original, but for some reason when ever I attempt to do that, all files are copied including the duplicates. Again, if I just do a save to the original directory the duplicates are gone.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7299
Offline

When you Save modified metadata is saved to the files, and any files marked for deletion are saved. I wonder if Save and Copy is not in fact doing the deletion part, but I cant see error in the code.

For now, try doing Save first and then Save and Copy - does that work for you.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
guyp2k

Enthusiast

Joined: 21/03/2016 11:10:39
Messages: 11
Offline

Same issue, when I save after making the changes (ctrl 1, rename folders/files, and delete duplicates) the changes are reflected in the original directory that I selected - all correct and no duplicates. If I select Save and Copy after the changes are made and Saved - Save and Copy copies all the files (including duplicates) to the target directory.

Scratching my head.

Thanks
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7299
Offline

I think you are missing something in your explanation. If Jaikoz has found duplicates and marked them for deletion then Save will definitently delete them (or move them to deletion folders if you have that configured) but you say it isn't. So it seems to me that actually these 'duplicates' are not identified as duplicates and marked for deletion in the first place ?


thanks Paul (Administrator)
guyp2k

Enthusiast

Joined: 21/03/2016 11:10:39
Messages: 11
Offline

At high-level when I "Save" all is correct in the original directory - "Save and Copy" to a specified directory all files are copied including the duplicates. I never get prompted to delete on "Save and Copy" after I select Action - Delete Duplicates."

I agree, I think I am missing a step/logic somewhere.

Thanks
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7299
Offline

My point is how do you know Delete Duplicates has found the 'duplicates', if it has worked then the songs to be deleted should have a Red Cross in the status field.

There are different definition of what is a duplicate, take a look at the delete duplicate preferences.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
guyp2k

Enthusiast

Joined: 21/03/2016 11:10:39
Messages: 11
Offline

No red x, just a floppy under status. I will look at the preferences and see what I could be missing.
guyp2k

Enthusiast

Joined: 21/03/2016 11:10:39
Messages: 11
Offline

Think I have it figured out - under Local Correct I changed from Move Duplicate to Delete Duplicate and under Save selected Move Files Mark For Deletion.....Now I have the Red X and when I do a Save and Copy all is good.

One more question, when moving files marked for deletion is there anyway to keep the directory structure in tact instead of dumping the files in the specified deletion directory?

Thanks
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team