[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
The application "Jaikoz.app" can't be opened.  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Author Message
at3mlos



Joined: 16/05/2011 05:34:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Hi guys,

the subject is pretty clear. The issue appreared after I updated.

I've temporary set "Allow apps downloaded from: anywhere" but it still doesn't start.

Any hints? Anyone else having this issue?

Regards
at3m
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Is the first time you've tried it or did it previous work, have you tried downloading it again, what version of OSX are you on ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
at3mlos



Joined: 16/05/2011 05:34:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Hi,

I've tried a bit to debug the issue, i have downloaded multiple times, now I'm sure the App is not corrupt because I managed to start it from my desktop.

The issue only appears when I move it to my Applications!

File permissions are 744 or 766 (can't remember exatly, at work right now) but it has exec right for my user.

I'm on OS X 10.11.(5?) El Capitan.

If you need further details pls ask.

Thanks!
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Are you sure you are copying the while app to /Applications perhaps use finder to compare the contents of the Jaikoz.app package on Desktop and APplications.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
at3mlos



Joined: 16/05/2011 05:34:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Hi and thanks for the fast replies.

I've installed Jaikoz on my second Mac and everything it working as it should.

Yes, the App is installed in the /Application folder and only when I copy it there it won't start, I've checked the permission, seem fine.

755 permission for /Applications/Jaikoz.app/Contents/MacOS/Jaikoz

What to check to make it run on my main Mac?

Thanks again!
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Hmm I dont really know, if you say it works from the desktop it would seem the problem would be the way you installed it. Did you double click on the downloaded file and then do drag to Applications icon within the installer.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
at3mlos



Joined: 16/05/2011 05:34:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Issue is still there, but the App runs ok on my second Mac, probabily next Software Update or next Jaikoz update will fix the problem, it's clearly some execution rights as it runs when I start it from the deskop. Error appears only when I drag it to the Application Folder :/
Anyway, can be closed.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

When you run the installer it should say let you drag it to Applications within the installer itself as part of the installation it should never be installed to Desktop n the first place, so maybe that is the problem.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Deeroy



Joined: 05/07/2017 12:22:14
Messages: 4
Offline

Hello Paul,
sadly I have the same Problem. A fresh installed MacOS 10.11.6, the last OS that works on my
Mac Mini from 2009. Downloading the latest Jaikoz release 9.1. First I dragged the old Jaikoz 3.8
into the trash and installed the new one by dragging it in the disk image to the app folder.
After that tried to opened it but system says (in german) app can't be opend.
I might be fine with SongKong too, just checked it, but it's a different license, or?
Regards
Dirk
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Hi, should be no problem.

From Finder, hold down Option Button and select Go menu
Select Library from the list
Go to Logs : Jaikoz
And send me jaikozdebug0-0.log

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Deeroy



Joined: 05/07/2017 12:22:14
Messages: 4
Offline

Hi Paul,
I've sent you the file in a pm. But I did it again, throwing rhe old one away, installing the new from .dmg.
Same thing again, can't open, but it doesn't appear in the jaikozdebug file, I looked to it again, no difference.
So what you see is the file from working with the old version.
Also in the dmg Jaikoz seemes to have a new icon, the record, but installed looks like the old one, the bug.
Are there hidden files I might need to delete?
Best regards
Dirk
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Hi, yes the log looks okay so as you say I think it only shows when Jaikoz working, so it was working then up until

Please try deleting Libraryreferences:settings.jai - that usually fixes these kind of issues


thanks Paul (Administrator)
Deeroy



Joined: 05/07/2017 12:22:14
Messages: 4
Offline

I did, new installation, but now:

Unable to start Jaikoz
java.sql.BathUpdateException: Table/View 'RELEASEGROUP' does not exist.

paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

You need to delete database to fix this one.

From Finder, hold down Option Button and select Go menu
Select Library from the list
Go to Preferences : Jaikoz
Delete jaikozdb
Start Jaikoz

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Deeroy



Joined: 05/07/2017 12:22:14
Messages: 4
Offline

Thank you so much for your help Paul,
it's working!


 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team