[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
task cancelled by SongKong because of unreported error  XML
Forum Index -> SongKong Issues
Author Message
Chalky



Joined: 19/08/2017 12:54:10
Messages: 1
Offline

New to SongKong. I have about 12,500 songs. In running Songkong, I received this error.

562 songs checked against MusicBrainz and Discogs before task cancelled by SongKong because of unreported error
Selected Folder :C:\Users\dcz27\Music
Base Folder:C:\Users\dcz27\Music

Appreciate and help/suggestions.

paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7461
Online

Hi, please run Help:Create Support Files so we can find out what the issue is

thanks Paul (Administrator)
NickBiden



Joined: 07/06/2018 05:44:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Paul,

I am also having this issue. I have run 'Create Support Files'.

I am using SongKong 5.3 with a Melco server running Twonky (haven't yet made the switch to minim).

I may be completely wrong but I suspect network stability issues. I am running SongKong on a Macbook and there seems to be a recurring issue with dropping the network connection. It's ethernet rather than wifi.

When songkong stops and I go to restart it shows that the target folder doesn't exist, despite being visible and available in Finder. SongKong is quite happy to browse to the target folder and reattach.

Thanks
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7461
Online

Hi, yes I had a look at your logs and it does seem to be a network issue.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
NickBiden



Joined: 07/06/2018 05:44:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Thanks Paul. Couple of questions:

1. Do the logs give you any clues as to the nature of the network issue? (Not expecting you to solve it for me but if the logs give any clues it might shorten the time it takes me to resolve!)
2. Am I able to run a second copy of SongKong on my current licence? It's currently installed on a macbook but I could run a second version on windows 10 and, possibly, isolate whether the issue is in the network or on the macbook.

Cheers

Nick
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7461
Online

1. No sorry not really
2. Yes, you can install one license on upto 3 computers.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
NickBiden



Joined: 07/06/2018 05:44:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Thanks Paul.
NickBiden



Joined: 07/06/2018 05:44:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Paul,

Quick update: I was unable to use a Windows version as the Melco was stubbornly refusing to be visible to a Windows machine. Call in to Melco, appreciate not your issue.

However, when I reverted to the Mac version I have now been able to process 99% of the library in ever increasing batch sizes. One I think took almost 75 minutes to process. I did not, through all this process (~6700 tracks) have a single issue of the loss of network connection.

There was, however, one particularly stubborn album: Coltrane Plays the Blues which continues to hang and cause the process to fail. I haven't, as yet, isolated whether it is a specific track that causes the problem. Nor have a re-ripped the album to establish whether it was a bad rip.

I will report back when I have. Only sharing with you in case other people have similar issues in the future.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7461
Online

Thanks Nick, if you have tracked down an issue to the Coltrane Plays the Blues album perhaps you could share your tracks to allow me to test, I will rmeove the album afterwards.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
NickBiden



Joined: 07/06/2018 05:44:00
Messages: 7
Offline

No problem. I may need to extract a backup to an external drive as there is one track that I can't extract direct from the Melco - probably the cause of the problem: Track 06 - Mr Knight.
NickBiden



Joined: 07/06/2018 05:44:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Paul,

I have come to the conclusion that is an issue with Track 06 because, try as I might I can't copy/move/zip/backup the file from any OS. My deduction is that the file must be corrupt. If I manage to extract a copy I'll forward it to you.

As a user the frustrating element of this is that a single corrupt file kills the whole process but with no indication of where the issue arose. Although I can see that the 'apparent' loss of communication with the server is the visible symptom. Not sure how easy it would be for you to be able to flag a track that times out so that it can be skipped.

I will now re-rip the album to see whether it was a ripping error.

N
NickBiden



Joined: 07/06/2018 05:44:00
Messages: 7
Offline

Paul,

Final update: I deleted the offending album and re-ripped it. I then ran SongKong on the complete library of c. 8000 tracks. It completed successfully with no errors and no loss of server connection.

Deduce, therefore, that the whole issue was triggered by a single bad rip / corrupt flac file.

paulvanleemput@telenet.be



Joined: 09/07/2018 01:20:20
Messages: 1
Offline

goodmorning,

I've run songkong but result in error above.
Copied the sources music files to my local harddrive.
deduced the problem to a specific folder / album.
But still the same problem. Please advice?
I've cleared the logfiles, reproduced the problem and send create support files a few minutes ago.

best regards PaulVL
 
Forum Index -> SongKong Issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team