[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
How to play MP3s from Jaikoz?  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Author Message
Nigeltag

Pro

Joined: 11/10/2007 20:00:34
Messages: 42
Offline

How can I launch Windows Media Player (WMP) from within Jaikoz so I can play an individual file?

I've configured the "External Application settings" to point to WMP (C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe) but it makes WMP launch and complain that it can't play the file & this settings dialogue box won't let me include any parameters like /Play in it - it just removes the entire line if you do that.

Thanks
Nigel
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7361
Offline

Nigeltag wrote:
How can I launch Windows Media Player (WMP) from within Jaikoz so I can play an individual file?

I've configured the "External Application settings" to point to WMP (C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe) but it makes WMP launch and complain that it can't play the file & this settings dialogue box won't let me include any parameters like /Play in it - it just removes the entire line if you do that.

Thanks
Nigel 

Jaikoz isnt a media player, but you can link to a media player for purpose of song identification. By default Jaikoz will try and use the default media player for your file, alternatively you can set the path to the application you want to use which is what youve done.

it should work, if I set it to
C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe
it works, is your Windows Media Player actually able to play the file standalone.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Nigeltag

Pro

Joined: 11/10/2007 20:00:34
Messages: 42
Offline

Yes I've set my "External Application settings" path to C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe (pasted it so you can see its correct) & Yes if I manually navigate to the EXACT same file, rightclick and selected Play it opens WMP & plays.

However in Jaikoz (v1.12 1034) when I rightclick the same Filename in the Edit pane and select "Run External App" from the popup menu NOTHING happens... am I doing something wrong?

Thanks
Nigel
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7361
Offline

ive just found a problem when using Alt-P rather than the popup menu, are you actually selecting from the popup menu ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Nigeltag

Pro

Joined: 11/10/2007 20:00:34
Messages: 42
Offline

Just tried doing it both ways - popup & ALT+P but neither works.
I've tried it with the column ID and/or base folder column highlighted (in edit pane) ... do I need to have a certain column highlighted?
NIgel
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7361
Offline

Are your settings saved (does your external player setting still contain C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe). Could you trying modifying your log settings to -l7 -m7 http://www.jthink.net/jaikoz/jsp/help/windows/help.html#Logging and send me your log files please.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Nigeltag

Pro

Joined: 11/10/2007 20:00:34
Messages: 42
Offline

Ok here are the logs and this is what I did to generate them:
1) Deleted all previous logfiles
2) Ran Jaikoz from .bat file with switches as requested.
3) Loaded a SINGLE file
4) Rightclicked the FILENAME column & selected "Run External App" - NOTHING happened.
5) Rightclicked the COLUMN ID column & selected "Run External App" - WMP loaded and played the track as expected.
CONCLUSION:
Problem ONLY occurs if rightclicking in the FILENAME column
(these latest results conflict with my earlier experience as per my earlier post... not sure why this has now started working)

Thanks
Nigel
 Filename jaikozdebug0-0.log [Disk] Download
 Description Debug log
 Filesize 41 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  420 time(s)

 Filename jaikozuser0-0.log [Disk] Download
 Description User log
 Filesize 384 bytes
 Downloaded:  418 time(s)

paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7361
Offline

Hi, confirmed problem is with filename columns, this has now been fixed.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team