[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Jaikoz and OSX Mavericks  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Announcements Go to Page: Previous  1, 2
Author Message
Neon Scribe

Pro

Joined: 12/05/2011 10:58:09
Messages: 50
Offline

Artwork drag and drop still doesn't work in 6.0.3.
leesarrasin



Joined: 06/11/2013 21:46:35
Messages: 2
Offline

Hi,
Tried again today with the 6.0.3 update and still no joy. I did wait for some time but it doesn't look there's any process running. It momentarily appears in the Finder menu and then disappears (no splash screen).

This time I didn't remove my version 5.6 (which is still working). I have the latest version of Java (7) on a Mac Pro 2.8GHz Quad Core.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7510
Offline

Neon Scribe wrote:
Artwork drag and drop still doesn't work in 6.0.3. 


How are you trying to do drag and drop, and what format is the image ?
Because if I drag an image onto the Jaikoz window, the images are added to all the songs currently selected in the edit panel (main window not row header selection), or I can drag an image directly onto a artwork field.

Dropping images onto the dock itself doesnt work, but that has never worked and I do not think it should because it wouldn't be clear what Jaikoz was adding the image to.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7510
Offline

leesarrasin wrote:
Hi,
Tried again today with the 6.0.3 update and still no joy. I did wait for some time but it doesn't look there's any process running. It momentarily appears in the Finder menu and then disappears (no splash screen). 


Could you try opening Utilities/Terminal then

Code:
 cd /Applications/Jaikoz.app/Contents/Java
 chmod 777 jaikoz.sh
 ./jaikoz.sh
 


and see if that works, or if errors occur

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Neon Scribe

Pro

Joined: 12/05/2011 10:58:09
Messages: 50
Offline

paultaylor wrote:

Neon Scribe wrote:
Artwork drag and drop still doesn't work in 6.0.3. 


How are you trying to do drag and drop, and what format is the image ?
Because if I drag an image onto the Jaikoz window, the images are added to all the songs currently selected in the edit panel (main window not row header selection), or I can drag an image directly onto a artwork field.

Dropping images onto the dock itself doesnt work, but that has never worked and I do not think it should because it wouldn't be clear what Jaikoz was adding the image to. 


I've been dragging and dropping from a browser, either Chrome or Safari, onto the Jaikoz window. I've tried dropping into the Summary pane on the cover image, or on the Artwork pane on the spot where an image would be displayed, or on the Artwork column. All of these worked in the pre-6.0 pre-Mavericks world and none of them work now. I have to resort to downloading the image and using the Add... interface in the Artwork pane. BTW, I just tried this again in 6.0.4. All of the images I've tried have been JPEGs.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7510
Offline

Okay, Im seeing this problem as well now and have raised http://jthink.net:8081/browse/JAIKOZ-790 to address this.

But the problem appears to be draggng from a web browser, dragging from file in Finder works okay. So perhaps an easier workaround in the meantime is to drag your image to Finder, then drag from Finder to Jaikoz.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
seth.feinberg

Pro

Joined: 17/12/2011 20:48:04
Messages: 42
Offline

6.0.4 seems to have a few issues for me as well. I was unable to test the drag-n-drop functionality of adding artwork because it was working extremely slow (also because autocorrect had found all the artwork). From initial start up (without it even loading in any songs) my fans start going at full blast and clearly its causing my computer's resources to work double time. However, unlike earlier versions when I experienced similar problems, other programs on the same machine are usable for the most part. To solve that issue before I had to allocate more memory to Jaikoz, but I don't remember how I did that or know if I should need to do it again. FWIW Jaikoz is pretty consistently using about 1.06gb of memory on my Mac with 8gb of memory.

The issues I'm experiencing:

  • There are minor GUI/rendering issues in that none of the radio buttons actually show up. This is true for the preferences where there is nothing after the various options to check, but more frustratingly in the "Is Compilation?" Metadata column which is just a blank cell
  • Further on the "Is Compilation?" Metadata column topic is that anytime i click a cell in that column it turns purple as if the value has changed from the original, EVEN if I click it again (ostensibly undoing the action and returning the cell to its original state)
  • Right-clicking a song and asking to see the release on Musicbrainz does nothing
    [list]I loaded about 2k songs into Musicbrainz and it took about 11 hours to autocorrect them (took only a couple hours before the OS X upgrade on similarly minimal amount of other network activity), and when I went to change the Base Folder upon completion it crashed. I sent the crash report via email.
    [/list]

    I've attached a number of screenshots.

    Love your program and can't wait to get back to using it on my Mac effectively!

    edit: the forum wouldn't let me upload the screenshots so here are some imgur links to them:

  • http://imgur.com/iDz4c67,HTGFeF2,PuijR6W - Jaikoz using over 130% of my CPU
  • http://imgur.com/iDz4c67,HTGFeF2,PuijR6W#1 - no radio buttons in the "Is Compilation?" column (far left) and purple as if the cell's value has changed from the first click despite a follow-up click that theoretically should have "unchecked" the phantom option and returned it to its original state
  • http://imgur.com/iDz4c67,HTGFeF2,PuijR6W#2
  • paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Hi Seth, I don't seem to be seeing these issues, are you actually on Mavericks on an earlier version of OSX ?

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Seth, I reread your message and you said you've sent me a support file, but I haven't received it.

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Neon Scribe dragging and dropping images from webbrowser to OSX now fixed in 6.0.5

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Seths problem seems to be that Jaikoz is still using Quaqua look and feel when it should in fact be using the satndard OSX loook and feel now. Ive asked Seth to do the following and I post it here in case anyone else having the same issue

    Please go into Preferences:Appearance
    Note what is set
    Try changing to something else, if Mac OS X change to System, or if System change to Mac OS X
    Restart

    If that doesnt solve the gui problems and the performance problems then you'll need to delete your settings.jai file whicc will mean losing any changes you made to your settings and you'll need to reinstall your license:

    Close Jaikoz
    Delete ~Library/Preferences/Jaikoz/settings.jai
    Start Jaikoz

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    To confirm the post above did fix Seths problem

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    Neon Scribe

    Pro

    Joined: 12/05/2011 10:58:09
    Messages: 50
    Offline

    paultaylor wrote:
    Neon Scribe dragging and dropping images from webbrowser to OSX now fixed in 6.0.5 


    Sorry, Paul. Dragging and dropping from Chrome to Jaikoz did not work for me in 6.0.5. I haven't tried Safari. I'm still doing the double drag, Chrome to Finder to Jaikoz.
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Have you actually tried dragged from an image page rather than a webpage containing an image, the first now works the second does not.

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    Neon Scribe

    Pro

    Joined: 12/05/2011 10:58:09
    Messages: 50
    Offline

    Yes, I tried dragging from an image page in Chrome. Typical workflow: Running Chrome browser, doing Google image search, click on one of the images, then click on the View Image button. This typically brings up a page with a .jpg URL. Try to drag from here to Jaikoz, no go. Drag to Finder works fine.
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Oh, okay - I haven't tried with Chrome

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Problem replicated, it is a bug in Java 7 for OSX, but it is fixed in Java 8 Pre-release for OSX, so I may move Jaikoz to use Java 8 earlier than I had planned.

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Dragging for Chrome now fixed in Jaikoz 6.0.6

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    phthor88



    Joined: 06/01/2014 15:14:32
    Messages: 1
    Offline

    I'm running OSX Mavericks 10.9.1 and using lates jaikoz version. I'm trying to allocate more memory as listed in the manual , but when I open .infoplist file as per manual: there are no memory parameters listed in this file: Any ideas?? (jaikoz console states: minimum heap memory loaded as startup> i have some 16to 17k songs and the memory keeps running low.
    Thanks
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    The method has changed and by default we just use the default as it now increases inline with the memory of your machine

    Go to where you installed Jaikoz
    Show pop-up, and select 'Show Package Contents'
    Go into Contents/
    Select pop-up on Info.plist and choose Open With Other...
    Select Application/TextEdit
    Find the line that says <string>-Dapple.awt.brushMetalLook=true</string>> and add a new line below, i.e to set to 2GB add <string>-Xmx2000M</string>

    You can check it has worked when you start Jaikoz by looking at the max memory allocated in the bottom right corner of the status bar. If it says

    61 Mb of 1778 Mb ,

    that means currently using 612 Mb but approximately 2gb has been allocated, that is the max value you are setting.

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
    richalank



    Joined: 30/11/2014 15:02:41
    Messages: 2
    Offline

    i had been using Jaikoz most recent version on Mavericks then upgraded to Yosemite. Had to revert back to Mav due to other software issues, but found Jaikoz had become zombie: would open but not function in any way and wouldn't quit either -- had to force-quit. I get no error message and even force-quit doesn't list the program as "not responding". It just sits there with it's menu bar but everything is grayd out and program doesn't function. I deleted the program and re-installed but same result. ideas?? tx!

    I am running a mid-2010 macmini / 2.4 GHz Core 2 Duo / Mavericks.
    paultaylor

    Pro
    [Avatar]

    Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
    Messages: 7510
    Offline

    Not sure, but I have nearly finished Jaikoz 8 and will be testing it against Yosemite this week, so please be patient we will have a Yosemite tested version of Jaikoz available by the end of the week.

    thanks Paul (Administrator)
     
    Forum Index -> Jaikoz Announcements Go to Page: Previous  1, 2
    Go to:   
    Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team