[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Use more memory by default  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Author Message
ptr727



Joined: 15/10/2007 00:14:44
Messages: 9
Offline

I've never been able to use the app without setting it to use more memory, e.g. with 20K files on a network share I have to set the memory to 2GB.

The user experience with too little memory is not great, either files fail to load (defaul settings), increase and start again (1GB), then during tagging it would complain again about too little memory, now what (set to 2GB and restart).

Why not set the app to use all memory, like a native app would have, the memory would be paged out anyway?
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7299
Offline

Because there is a problem with macs that if you allocate more memory then is physically available Jaikoz runs too slow. It was never really the intention that you load all 20,000 files in one go but because everybody seems to be doing this I will be working on some kind of cache.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
mcsetsr



Joined: 11/06/2008 09:51:04
Messages: 2
Offline

Paul,

This is the only "Major" problem I have had with your program. Even with setting memory to 4GB I can not load more then 10k files and have it complete auto correct. Can we move this from "wish" to reality

Thanks,

Tim
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7299
Offline

If you still cant load more than 10k either you havent set the memory correctly or you have a problem with a particular file consuming masses of memory.

I believe a couple of people have encountered the second problem, but I have no proof. If you are continually failing to load files after at about the same folder despite changes to memory, could you try just loading that folder to see if it still fails and then you can narrow the fault down and send me the problem file.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7299
Offline

Jaikoz 2.5.0 will show in the console the maximum memory its thinks you have allocated, it also contains many memory usage improvements

thanks Paul (Administrator)
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team