[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Force match on release id  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Author Message
markfaine

Pro

Joined: 10/04/2008 19:58:02
Messages: 150
Offline

I often have trouble getting my files to match to a release even though I'm certain the release is in musicbrainz. I can even go look it up and verify it against each file manually but still Jaikoz refuses to accept the release id and match it. So, I'd like to be able to just set the release id manually and have it match accordingly, no matter what. I don't care what the circumstances, even if I'm giving it completely wrong files I still want it to just do it anyway.

Can that be done?
dkoh

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 05/06/2010 15:02:29
Messages: 246
Location: NorCal, US
Offline

This sounds like more of a problem with your files than a malfunctioning feature. You can't have a Dio album and force it to be Jamiroquai. That's like... the opposite of matching.

What's really happening here? If you get the acoustIDs and then just AutoCorrect, does it come up with different artists/titles? If that's the case, then there's no match, therefore nothing to match to in MB. Can you give an example of what you're doing and what release? I really have a feeling the PUIDs are saying the files are something else.

Of course, you could always copy/paste the MBID in those fields to make it look like you have everything correct.

-----------------------------------
Windows 7 64-bit
Asus M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
AMD AthlonII X3 3.20 GHz
8.0GB RAM
Nvidia 8800 GTX
Back to 5.1.1 NGS (320 & FLAC)
markfaine

Pro

Joined: 10/04/2008 19:58:02
Messages: 150
Offline

I have already verified that the release is correct but Jaikoz still refuses to match when I specify the release id. What I'm asking for is for it to simply take my word for it and override any checking. This way it will populate the metadata from the release I've selected without checking.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7291
Offline

Marc

Does it give any reason in the console why the match wasn't allowed ?

Can you check the file lengths of your songs with the songs listed on MusicBrainz, if they differ dramatically this is normally the reason not to do a match, and check Jaikoz is showing the correct songs lengths, in the past there has been the odd file that Jaikoz incorrectly calculates the length for.

Also, consider this. If you have 10 songs and you tell Jaikoz that you want to match them to a particular release how does Jaikoz know which song in Musicbrainz matches to which song in Jaikoz, it has to do it based on song length, puids and if available artist, title and trackno metadata. If I can't find a match for all ten songs I cant just match to some of the songs because that is not what yo would want.

Of course there may be a particular problem and the best way for me to find out would be if you could make the songs available to me and I can test it out.

But the (albeit cumbersome) workaround is to add in the MB UniqueId and MB Release Id for each song then you can update them using Update Metadata from Musicbrainz Id

thanks Paul (Administrator)
markfaine

Pro

Joined: 10/04/2008 19:58:02
Messages: 150
Offline

Ok, I'll consider everything you just said and try to think of what to do next. The cumbersome method you mentioned is what I'm trying to request be automated. All you really need is a track number and a release id.

For example, I want to match an album but Jaikoz doesn't want to match (for whatever reason). I then select "Force match against musicbrainz release id: <some id>

Jaikoz then populates the release id and unque id based on the information provided using the track numbers as a key and then updates the metadata from musicbrainz.

Of course, if the user gives it an incorrect release id there is nothing that can be done about that, they just get what they asked for.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7291
Offline

and what do I do if the songs dont have a trackno

thanks Paul (Administrator)
markfaine

Pro

Joined: 10/04/2008 19:58:02
Messages: 150
Offline

Nothing, error message
Rob

Pro
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/05/2011 05:14:28
Messages: 21
Offline

This is pretty similar to my old Discogs request: http://www.jaikoz.net/jaikozforum/posts/list/1924.page
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7291
Offline

True, forgot about that there is so much stuff in Jaikoz difficult to keep track sometimes.

So Rob did the fix that let you override tracks times do it for you , or was it not quite there for you. I dont think I added this override for Musicbrainz, but not sure if this is what is causing it to fail for Mark.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Rob

Pro
[Avatar]
Joined: 02/05/2011 05:14:28
Messages: 21
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
So Rob did the fix that let you override tracks times do it for you 

Yes, the Discogs matching works fine for me now that I can choose to ignore any timing discrepancies.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7291
Offline

Mark, I took a look at the Match to Specified Musicbrainz Release code today and think I found the problem.

The Match to MusicBrainz Release task was previously matching to the best match even if that match was very poor, as long as every track could match in some way (even if only on trackno) that was not good when the user had not specified a particular release to match to. So in a later release I added some additional checking so that the match had to be reasonable to be allowed. But because Match to Specified Musicbrainz Release is a sublass of Match to MusicBrainz Release it accidently also was subject to these extra checks when I didn't mean it to be.

So Ive now removed these checks just for Match to Specified Musicbrainz Release, so as long as a mapping can be found so that every track matches a track on the release in at least some way (trackno or title or track duration) and no song is matched to by more than one track the match will now work.

I may add in the extra dialog that Discogs matching has got so that you are aware that it doesnt seem to be a very good match before proceeding.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7291
Offline

Both done in Jaikoz 4.3.0 Beta now available

thanks Paul (Administrator)
markfaine

Pro

Joined: 10/04/2008 19:58:02
Messages: 150
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
Both done in Jaikoz 4.3.0 Beta now available 


Thanks Paul.

I'll give it a try soon.

-Mark
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team