[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Track Artist v Recording Artist  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Author Message
djotley

Pro

Joined: 29/11/2007 13:35:34
Messages: 32
Location: Yorkshire, England, UK
Offline

The track The Seer from The Greatest Hits of Big Country and The Skids has the artist Big Country feat. Kate Bush when I match this album

http://musicbrainz.org/release/a872d124-9fba-4e42-bee5-b1ed41466481

it brings back Big Country as the artist which is the Artist of that group of recordings

http://musicbrainz.org/recording/cdcd6cb4-debd-43c2-938f-649ed409ad54

It this correct or is there a setting where I can change it to pick up the Track artist so that it reflects the actual disc information

paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7485
Online

Yes you can use Preferences:Remote Correct:Format:Use Recording Name instead of Track Name but is this checked because by default its unchecked and therefore should use track name.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
djotley

Pro

Joined: 29/11/2007 13:35:34
Messages: 32
Location: Yorkshire, England, UK
Offline

I don't have this ticked. it picks up the track title correctly but uses the artist from the recording for example in this incorrect entry my artist is Duran Duran not fun boy three but track title is The Lunatics (Have Taken Over the Asylum)

http://musicbrainz.org/recording/24fe0e42-8176-4480-9f02-ac442a75fab6

http://musicbrainz.org/release/d77a1d20-f72f-4959-9c6a-9cc737e6da9a
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7485
Online

Right, sorry I think I need to another option.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7485
Online

So I was ignoring the track artist and always using the recording artist so Ive now changed it so by default it uses the track artist but you can get it to use the recording artist by enabling a new option

'Preferences:Remote Correct:Format:Use Recording Artist name instead of Track Artist Name'

This is different to

'Use Artist Name instead of Artist Credit name'

which currently when enabled uses the artistname rather than the credit name if different at recording level, in the next release this will now be a track level unless the new option is enabled.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
djotley

Pro

Joined: 29/11/2007 13:35:34
Messages: 32
Location: Yorkshire, England, UK
Offline

Thanks Paul
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team