[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Save case insenstitive  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Author Message
34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

It would be great if you could set the file and directory naming to case insensitive.
All upper or all lower would be enough, nothing fancy needed

I'm going though my library which has around 100,000 songs in total (Including duplicates)
I expect this to come down to around 40,000 after I process them all and duplicates are removed.

I'm loading and processing in batches of around 20,000

My naming scheme is /artist/album/track
I'm getting so many variants at the Artist and album level that its driving me nuts

I have been processing in batches then save/move matched
After each batch I move the batch to a sub folder
After a Few batches I load up the matched directory and remove duplicates

I have no written a bash script to rename and move the files.
Would be great if I did not have to do this

Also I'm getting errors with save and move due to case, not many but some
The save and move will fail some songs due to target directory case issues.
Not many fails, probably 50 per 20,000 batch

Another way around would be if the capitalize could be added as part of the auto-correct. Having that before the save and move should do the trick

Cheers
34by151




34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

As a further workaround I used the javascript command toLowercase() to save everything as lowercase

Folder Rename Mask (both)
(artist.length>0 ? (artist.toLowerCase()) + folderseparator albumartist.length>0 ? (albumartist.toLowerCase()) + folderseparator : '')) + (album.toLowerCase())

File Rename Mask (both)
(title.toLowerCase())

This is not ideal but is better than all upper
I'd really like to make it Title Case or Sentence case
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

34by151 wrote:
It would be great if you could set the file and directory naming to case insensitive.
All upper or all lower would be enough, nothing fancy needed
 

I dont really understand what you mean, case insensitive in what context, isn't this a property of the filesystem, what operating system are you on ?

34by151 wrote:

My naming scheme is /artist/album/track
I'm getting so many variants at the Artist and album level that its driving me nuts
 

You mean a particular artist maybe be displayed in different cases ?
If your artist is matched to Musicbrainz it will be the same for every match, unless the artist has been added twice to Musicbrainz by mistake, but this happens VERY rarely. So if you are getting this I expect it is because some songs have been matched to MusicBrainz and some have not, what you could do is use Local Correct to Correct the artist case to Sentence Case/Title Case for every artist, you can also use the Capitlizer directly for any column.

I suggest what you do is concentrate on geting the metadata correct, then when you rename files based on the metadata you should get conistent folder/filenames. Take advantage of the filters to show only songs that have not been matched to Musicbrainz and manually correct them, use the Tag browser to multiple versions of artists or releases.

34by151 wrote:

I have no written a bash script to rename and move the files.
Would be great if I did not have to do this
 

As you can do all this within Jaikoz I do not understand why you do need to do this.

34by151 wrote:

Also I'm getting errors with save and move due to case, not many but some
The save and move will fail some songs due to target directory case issues.
Not many fails, probably 50 per 20,000 batch
 

That is interesting, can you expand on exactly the problem and perhaps send me your support files as well (Advanced/Create Support Files)

34by151 wrote:

Another way around would be if the capitalize could be added as part of the auto-correct. Having that before the save and move should do the trick
 

It can for the main fields, as it is part of the Local Correct task, but you cannot do it for al fields.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

34by151 wrote:
As a further workaround I used the javascript command toLowercase() to save everything as lowercase

Folder Rename Mask (both)
(artist.length>0 ? (artist.toLowerCase()) + folderseparator albumartist.length>0 ? (albumartist.toLowerCase()) + folderseparator : '')) + (album.toLowerCase())

File Rename Mask (both)
(title.toLowerCase())

This is not ideal but is better than all upper
I'd really like to make it Title Case or Sentence case
 


Yes, this does not seem ideal. As I said in the last post I think you need to get the metadata correctly formatted, then you can leave the filename stuff alone.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

Re Artist names

As an example I have had
Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force
Afrika Bambaataa & soulsonic force

Both From Muscbranz

Therefore I get 2 directories, as above

forcing all the file renames to lowercase solves this but its not ideal as I'd like to store using "Title Case"

If I was using Windoze then the issue would not occur however as I'm using a btrfs file system it's an issue. Than again it would not matter if it was ext3/4, reiser ect all are case sensitive file systems

If the capitalize as "Title case" could be applied to "Artist", "Album Artist", "Album" & "Title" as part of the auto-corrector this would not occur.

The Move error occurs when an autocorrector batch saves and moves and also has an artist with 2 different case (as above).
Ill put together a support file and send

For now Im processing all the files and forcing to store as lowercase (with the jaxscript)
Once that is done I'll remove duplicates and apply title case. Finally I'l revive the javascript and save and move again. That should get around things but if the capitalize could be added to the autocorrect I could do this all in a single batch
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

34by151 wrote:
Re Artist names

As an example I have had
Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force
Afrika Bambaataa & soulsonic force

Both From Muscbranz
 

When I search on Musicbrainz I only get one artist but maybe it is a problem with artist credits.

http://musicbrainz.org/search?query=Afrika+Bambaataa+%26+Soulsonic+force+&type=artist

Artist credits are used when an artist uses a slightly different name to their usual name on a release. Ive just had another idea try setting Preferences:Remote Correct:Format:Use Artist Name instead of Artist Credit Name and run Update Metadata from Musicbrainz on these files to see if that solves this problem.

34by151 wrote:

If the capitalize as "Title case" could be applied to "Artist", "Album Artist", "Album" & "Title" as part of the auto-corrector this would not occur.
 

It can be applied to Artist, Album & Title but not Album Artist at the moment, see Preferences:Local Correct:Auto Format and [b]Preferences:Manipulators:Auto COrrect. There is an outstabnding request to add it for Album Artist.

34by151 wrote:

The Move error occurs when an autocorrector batch saves and moves and also has an artist with 2 different case (as above).
Ill put together a support file and send
[/quote
thanks.


thanks Paul (Administrator)
34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

"Preferences:Remote Correct:Format:Use Artist Name instead of Artist Credit Name and run Update Metadata from Musicbrainz"

Im using both of these options

Preferences:Local Correct:Auto Format and [b]Preferences:Manipulators:Auto COrrect. There is an outstabnding request to add it for Album Artist.

I'm using both of these. What seems to be happening is the local correct fixes the artist, title, track case but the remote correct options overwrite these
I think again it comes down to multiple passes with the auto correct, the final pass having only the local correct items

Support file sent, generated after a batch the produced the move error

Cheers 34by151
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

34by151 wrote:

I'm using both of these. What seems to be happening is the local correct fixes the artist, title, track case but the remote correct options overwrite these
I think again it comes down to multiple passes with the auto correct, the final pass having only the local correct items
 

Possinbly, but I would say the Remote Correct is usually going to give much better results than the Local Correct, I wouldnt overwite remote corrections with local correct myself.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

I agree but has the case issue.

The case is only corrected in the local correct not the remote. The case issues are come from the remote content.

Without the ability to apply "Title case" after the remote correct that forces me to do one of two things

1.
Remove the toLowercase() from the rename options
Remove the remote correct options from the autocorrect
Reprocesses with local correct options only
Save and move matched

2.
Load up the processed files
Manually apply capitalizer
Change the base dir (dirs above) option
local correct basedir
local correct filnames
save an move

I think I'll go with option 1, or is my thinking wrong?
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

34by151 wrote:

The case is only corrected in the local correct not the remote. The case issues are come from the remote content.
 

I think we need to establish if this is definitently true because in the one example you have given of

Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force
Afrika Bambaataa & soulsonic force

The remote correct has the correct version of

Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force

34by151 wrote:

Without the ability to apply "Title case" after the remote correct that forces me to do one of two things
 

But Ive explained that you can do that, so IM struglling to follow your logic

thanks Paul (Administrator)
34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

Ive sent you a directory listing crested by the remote correct

Facts are the that the remote correct produces different combinations of case.
Case correction is only part of the local correct

So if you get any case variant in the Artist, Album Artist, Album or track you will get multiple file/dir structures produced.

My logic is force everything to lower case for now so I can get everything processed. Once processed remove the force lower case and manually apply title case, then re save the structure
34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

PS I'm not sure if the remote correct case variants are coming from Musicbrainz or Discogs

paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

34by151 wrote:
Ive sent you a directory listing crested by the remote correct

Facts are the that the remote correct produces different combinations of case.
Case correction is only part of the local correct
 

Hi, I dont seem to have received it , but not sure whayt you mean by directory listing as remote correct doesnt effect the filenames directly. What might be useful is if you have problem files and running Correct Meatadata from Musicbrainz changes the case incorrectly you could give me the MB recoridng Ids of the offending tracks then I can check it, and also work out if the problem comes from Musicbrainz or Discogs.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
34by151



Joined: 24/12/2011 17:08:14
Messages: 8
Offline

I'll compile a few examples and send
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team