[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
step by step guide how to use pro functions  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Author Message
pschonmann

Pro
[Avatar]
Joined: 30/11/2008 14:02:22
Messages: 239
Offline

Hi, should be fine to do some guide how to use Jaikoz with pro features like local mb server to minimize delay. Should it be possible Paul ?

With pictures, and commands which i need to type into virtualbox machine. Thanks

Support Jaikoz! I did it!
[Email] [WWW]
scribebox



Joined: 07/06/2011 14:40:39
Messages: 9
Offline

yea, i just wish someone would post a .TORRENT with a fully functioning VM that we could just run and point our jaikoz library too, i think that would be our best bet! Paul are you reading these ;)?
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Musicbrainz do make VMs with mbserver available, but unfortunately it doesn't include the search server bit although you can do this yourself.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
pschonmann

Pro
[Avatar]
Joined: 30/11/2008 14:02:22
Messages: 239
Offline

And thats it what im talking about. I dont know ( cant do this how to set search server. Script that do this for me is apreciated or just how to set finding server for dummies, or just vbox image.

Support Jaikoz! I did it!
[Email] [WWW]
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

The problem is it isn't for dummies. I'll look into it further but here are the instructions here

http://svn.musicbrainz.org/search_server/trunk/README

If you try and do it this way and get stuck I can help you with problems doing it this way.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
dbaps

Pro

Joined: 24/07/2012 17:16:07
Messages: 39
Offline

I have a Qnap NAS that supports Tomcat in a Qpkg. It would be awesome if someone would write a QPKG to run Jaikoz directly on the NAS.

http://forum.qnap.com/viewforum.php?f=121&sid=4f2cd3c410349ff2a228250db96530d3

Document to create QPKG's

http://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/QPKG_Development_Guidelines

No, I don't work for Qnap.



Just a customer...

dbaps

Pro

Joined: 24/07/2012 17:16:07
Messages: 39
Offline

So after my 20th timeout of Musicbrainz, even though I've never tried Linux, I'm thinking about building the server at home.

I see Paul has the manual instruction. There is a virtual machine you can download if you don't want to use Amazon. Amazon you must manually build the database server.

http://musicbrainz.org/doc/MusicBrainz_Server/Setup

https://github.com/metabrainz/musicbrainz-server/blob/master/INSTALL.md

So I'm interested in getting some ideas from anyone who has done this before. I use Vmware at work so I'm very familiar with that software.

I have both Fusion and Workstation products at home. We use ESX at work and VSphere 4.1. Haven't tried Esxi yet.

Putting it on my Qnap NAS would be the best place for it. However if I must put it on a Mac or Windows machine and make this virtual I will do it.

Can anyone offer some suggestions or tips before I start? Has anyone tried either the manual setup or the Linux virtual machine for an MB database?

Thanks! Paul S.
Scottes7

Enthusiast

Joined: 10/08/2012 21:25:01
Messages: 17
Offline

The VM is trivial to set up. Just follow the instructions to set it up. You really don't need to know Linux at all. Once the VM is up and running, just log in, and type one command, and it's running.


Getting it up-to-date is a little more work, but doesn't necessarily have to be done. The VM is about 3 months old now. I don't know how much the database gets updated in 3 months.

In any case, there is a relatively automatic way to update it, but it will take a while to replicate over the Internet. They recommend updating the database by downloading new database files. That can take a little Linux knowledge, but the guides are good.


However, I still you're limited to 1 request per second. That is just hard-coded into the web software. Well, it's a Python script, so it's editable, and can be changed. I think - I just looked at it today and haven't made those changes to try it out.

Still, it's local, and faster than the main MB server, with no Internet connection overhead.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Scottes7 wrote:
The VM is trivial to set up. Just follow the instructions to set it up. You really don't need to know Linux at all. Once the VM is up and running, just log in, and type one command, and it's running.
 

But it only provides lookup, not search. Its configured so that searches are done against the real mbserver however you build the search indexes yourself and then in Jaikoz specify a separate search server.

Scottes7 wrote:

Getting it up-to-date is a little more work, but doesn't necessarily have to be done. The VM is about 3 months old now. I don't know how much the database gets updated in 3 months.
 

Databases can be setup as slave servers , and then a process called replication can be used to update data packets of new data, see Running Replication on http://musicbrainz.org/doc/MusicBrainz_Server/Setup




However, I still you're limited to 1 request per second. That is just hard-coded into the web software. Well, it's a Python script, so it's editable, and can be changed. I think - I just looked at it today and haven't made those changes to try it out.
 

Are you talking about if you start your own local mbserver website then there is a ne second delay between searches. That is because your mbserver is actually performing search against musicbrainz.org . If you try and cirumvent the limit you'll find your ipaddress is banned and you won't be able to use musicbrainz at all, so don't change it !
Scottes7

Enthusiast

Joined: 10/08/2012 21:25:01
Messages: 17
Offline

That explains the limiting I'm still seeing! I wish they had mentioned that - or maybe I just didn't read between the lines well enough.

I wonder if there's any way to run your own MB server in a way that allow you to do more than 1 query per second. Any ideas on this?
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7208
Offline

Yes you can, search is implemented in Musicbrainz by building search indexes and querying the indexes rather than the database directly this is explained in http://svn.musicbrainz.org/search_server/trunk/README

If you set this up you can configure Jaikoz Pro to use this search server for queries using the Preferences:MusicBrainz:MusicBrainz Server:MusicBrainz Search Server

You can also configure your Musicbrainz Website to use this by changing a configuration setting (sorry cannot remember where at the moment).

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Scottes7

Enthusiast

Joined: 10/08/2012 21:25:01
Messages: 17
Offline

Very cool, thanks. I've been writing some Python scripts to query MB so it would be nice if they ran faster.
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Wishlist
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team