[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Jaikoz 5.0 / Win7 / 64bit UI not painting correctly  XML
Forum Index -> SongKong Issues
Author Message
toyzrme

Enthusiast

Joined: 30/06/2009 14:40:30
Messages: 15
Offline

Hi -
I was just about to load up 3,000 files for an overnight Auto-correct run, and on a whim, checked for a new version.

Excited to see 5.0, I downloaded the 64-bit version to run on my Win7/x64 Core2Duo box with 8GB. Since I had 4.6.3 installed in its standard place (32bit, so "Program Files (x86)"), and the directions said you had to either wipe the old install or install to a new directory, I installed 5.0 in the 64 bit "Program Files" directory (default), since it is a different directory.

It took longer to load than 4.6.3, and when it did come up full screen, the window was blank - just the frame. Playing around, I found some controls would paint if I hovered over them (like tabs, scroll bars, etc.), but I could not get the table/grid to appear.

Finally, I shrank the window (to less than 1/4 screen) - and the table painted. BUT, when I tried scrolling right, it became noise. Or, if I expanded the window far enough right, it turned to noise.

I think there are a couple of problems, but the scrolling behavior in the small window, *might* have happened when I hit the Artwork column (couldn't tell, because it turned to noise).

At that point, I went back and ran the 32-bit 4.6.3 version, as it was late and I wanted to do the run overnight.

Questions:
1) was it OK to just install the 64-bit version in "Program Files", with 4.6.3 in "Program Files (x86)"?
2) Settings: is it ok to switch back & forth like that? I did a quick scan, and I could swear some changed, and some did not
3) Any thoughts on the UI painting?

Thanks,
Bruce

PS Would it be ok to install Jaikoz 5 on another of my boxes at home while this gets worked out?
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7485
Online

1> Yes it was, and for future releases it would be fine to install Jaikoz over the previous release i.e 5.1 over 5.0, there is just an issue that 5.0 uses a new version of the installer software which unfortunately prevents installation over an install that uses an earlier version.

2> Not really, it only works one way. So your starting point is Jaikoz 4.6.3 when you start Jaikoz 5.0 for the first time it converts your 4.6.3 preferences to 5.0.0 preferences and keeps all your settings. However if you then start Jaikoz 4.6.3 again it does not understand the newer 5.0.0 preferences so will have to reset preferences to the default. So unfortunately you have probably now lost your settings, although if you look in c:\Users\username\Jaikoz there maybe a settings.old file containing your original settings, so you could try deleting settings.jai and renaming the settings.old to settngs.jai

3> I don't know about this issue, but if you email support@jthink.net with your support files (Advanced/Create Support Files) it may tell us.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
toyzrme

Enthusiast

Joined: 30/06/2009 14:40:30
Messages: 15
Offline

Can I also install v5.0 x32 as long as I choose yet another install directory? (just wondering if it could be a 64-bit thing)

It seems the runtime files are self-contained, but just the settings are common?
toyzrme

Enthusiast

Joined: 30/06/2009 14:40:30
Messages: 15
Offline

FYI I uninstalled 463 using the uninstaller, deleted the 5.0 Program Files directory (since the uninstaller didn't work), and deleted the Users\<name>\Jaikoz directory.

Then I installed the 32-bit version (5.0), and it paints normally - so it's either the x64 version having troubles, the install, or the combination of 463/x32 and 5.0/x64 (and maybe locations).
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7485
Online

The 5.0 uninstaller is available in Control Panel/Program and Features and if you run it there it does work. Yes the installation is completely self-contained in Jaikoz 5.0.0 except for the preferences which are stored per user rather than in the installation folder.

I don't see how different installations would have any effect, the most likely issue would be a 64bit issue but I have not encountered such an issue myself so Im not convinced this is the issue.

Now that you have removed 463 and have a working 500 32bit installtion please install the 500 64-bit version again. You'lll have no problems switching between 32bit and 64bit as they both use the preferences version, it would be interesting to know if you are still having an issue with the 64bit version.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
 
Forum Index -> SongKong Issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team