[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Jaikoz app freeze on "Add to your MusicBrainz Collection"  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Author Message
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

Hi,

I've corrected a bunch of info locally using JaikozPro for a Multi-disc collection.

I'd like to now add the correct(ed) collection data to my registered-user's Musicbrainz Collection feature to upload a list of your Music Collection.

To do that I select:

Action -> Remote Correct -> Add to your MusicBrainz Collection

@ exec of that select, Jaikoz freezes completely. To exit/recover, I have to `kill -9` the Jaikoz proc.

On freeze, the logs contain:

Code:
 ==> jaikozuser0-0.log <==
 Feb 16, 2013 10:00:07 AM: INFO: Started to save changes to all modified songs
 Feb 16, 2013 10:00:07 AM: INFO: Did not save 29 files because they were not modified or marked for deletion
 Feb 16, 2013 10:00:07 AM: INFO: Completed saving of 0 songs
 Feb 16, 2013 10:00:07 AM: INFO: Completed deletion of 0 songs
 
 ==> jaikozdebug0-0.log <==
 16/02/2013 10.00.07:com.jthink.jaikoz.indexed.DataIndexer:reindex:SEVERE: Reindex start:Sat Feb 16 10:00:07 PST 2013
 16/02/2013 10.00.08:com.jthink.jaikoz.indexed.DataIndexer:reindex:SEVERE: Reindex end:Sat Feb 16 10:00:08 PST 2013
 


Known issue, or any hints?

Thanks.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

Not a known issue no.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

ok.

is this "Issues" forum where you'd like to see "bug reports", or do you have a bugtracker somewhere?

any specific further info you need for this issue? happy to provide as needed/requested.

thanks.

EDIT:

I found the JIRA issue tracker. Unfortunately, when I try to register an account there (@ http://jthink.net:8081/secure/Signup!default.jspa), I get the following error message:

"Sign up
You cannot sign up at this time, as the user limit for JIRA has been exceeded. For further assistance, please contact your JIRA administrators."
 


paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

Hi yes I only have a limited number of user accounts, you just need to use the generic account

username:user
password:user

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

fyi,

http://jthink.net:8081/browse/JAIKOZ-587

thanks.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

When you select Add to Collection does a dialog appear whereby you select the collection you want to add your songs to or not.
Have you retried this, does it always happen even with different songs
Please retry and it it fails email support@jthink.net your complete support files (Advanced/Create Support Files)

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline


When you select Add to Collection does a dialog appear whereby you select the collection you want to add your songs to or not.
 

No dialog. Just a small, empty, grey rectangle

See the attached snapshot: "Jaikoz_AddToMBColl_Fail.png"

Have you retried this, does it always happen even with different songs
 

Yes. It's fully reproducible -- happens with any/every song.

Please retry and it it fails email support@jthink.net your complete support files (Advanced/Create Support Files)
 

Will do ...
[Thumb - Jaikoz_AddToMBColl_Fail.png]
 Filename Jaikoz_AddToMBColl_Fail.png [Disk] Download
 Description Jaikoz_AddToMBColl_Fail.png
 Filesize 29 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  305 time(s)

paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

So its failing on displaying the dialog that lets you choose the collection to add it to, that narrows its down a bit. I assume you do have at least one Musicbrainz collection ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

If by "Musicbrainz Collection" you mean, e.g., albums "in Jaikoz" that have been populated from Musicbrainz, then yes -- many.

Trying to add-collection TO musicbrainz is what's failing/crashing.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

No, I mean have you created a collection within Musicbrainz.

i.e login to Musicbrainz website
Go to My Data/My Collections
Click on Create New Collection
Enter name then create Collection.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
No, I mean have you created a collection within Musicbrainz.

i.e login to Musicbrainz website
Go to My Data/My Collections
Click on Create New Collection
Enter name then create Collection. 


No, I did not. I assumed, apparently incorrectly, that Jaikoz would create the Collection.

@ MB, I created, now, a "test" collection.

@ Jaikoz, "Add to MB collection" now DOES pop up the dialog, list "test".

Adding music from Jaikoz TO that selected collection now works as expected.

So it appears that:

(1) documentation for dummies that states "Create a/the collection first @ MB"
&/or
(2) Error handling to avoid app freeze in the case/instance that no collection @ MB exists

are called for.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

1> Agree I'll update the documentation, although when I added this function it was very much a niche function for MusicBrainz users rather than a core function of the Jaikoz tagger - I haven't devoted much time to this. There isn't currently a facility in webservice to allow an external application to create a collection you have to do it via the MusicBrainz website.

2> I just tried deleting any collections I had and rerun Add Collections and for me it displays an empty list, so of course it shouldn't just freeze, but you are the only one to ever have reported this.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
1> Agree I'll update the documentation, although when I added this function it was very much a niche function for MusicBrainz users rather than a core function of the Jaikoz tagger - I haven't devoted much time to this. There isn't currently a facility in webservice to allow an external application to create a collection you have to do it via the MusicBrainz website.

2> I just tried deleting any collections I had and rerun Add Collections and for me it displays an empty list, so of course it shouldn't just freeze, but you are the only one to ever have reported this. 


Thanks.

Iiuc, adding my Jaikoz-corrected collections TO MB can (does?) expose/share that data to MB for others to use.

I assume that, at least, my MB data is available to ME, using Jaikoz, to update my local data from.

Imo, that's hugely valuable -- even if only for my private collection -- to store/recover "known good" data. To noones surprise, lots of MB, and others', data is ... less than robust.

Again, this 'freeze' if no MB collection is 100% reproducible. Here. If there's any further data/diagnostic that'd be helpful, please let me know.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

Collections, essentially allow you to say I have these releases, and share that information with others or not. Only the MusicBrainz release ids are stored, nothing else so Im not sure if this is what you mean by 'known good' data.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
Collections, essentially allow you to say I have these releases, and share that information with others or not. Only the MusicBrainz release ids are stored, nothing else so Im not sure if this is what you mean by 'known good' data. 


Hm. Thanks for the clarification.

No, I meant -- and hoped for -- more that just the releaseIDs.

For *many* of my Albums, whether matched by AcoustID, MB data (bar code, best match, etc), DiscOgs, etc, the Album data, and sometime some-not-all song data, is flat out wrong.

I was hoping there's a way to upload/update that data "somewhere" (thinking MB was 'the place') so that "my" Jaikoz can pull/update preferentially from "my" data.

Iiuc, the best source of that "known good" data is, simply, my local Jaikoz data.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7298
Offline

If you want to preserve local data simply use Advanced/Export to export all data (except artwork at the moment) to a spreadsheet or comma separated file. You can even edit this data and then re-import into the files currently loaded into Jaikoz.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team