[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Capitalizer or Something else not see punctuation  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Author Message
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

Using Jaikoz v5.1.1 NGS bld 1117
I want title field capitalized.

Letter after the punctuation mark is being capitalized
i.e.
Can't is changed to Can'T
That's changed to That'S

I'm thinking its the capitalizer but if i manually use it on the title nothing happens. Not sure whats doing it and how to correct.

Thanks

License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

Maybe the track it is matched to on Musicbrainz is incorrect, is it matched to MusicBrainz ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

all is correct on Musicbrainz

I did a test by changing Preferences, Local Correct, Auto Format, Capitalization Options, Title.. From Title Case to No Modification.
Now Capitalization after the apostrophe on contractions is ok so looks like the Title Case routine needs a small tweak so the letters after the apostrophe stay small case until it see a space character to continue Title Case

License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

It already does, for me its work fine.
Have you modified your settings in this area somwhere ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

Local Correct, Auto Format, Title set to Title Case
From Main Menu pick Action, Local Correct, Title
Prefs

License Type:Full
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

I did change order of Autocorrector Tasks see pic
Also checked Do local correct on songs that already have a Musicbrainz id



License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

I was thinking more of have you changed anything in Word Replace or Capitalizer preferences.

It would be useful if you could test out my hypothesis that is a problem with your preferences as follows.

Shutdown Jaikoz
Rename settings.jai in your c:\Mesh\userneme\Jaikoz folder
Start Jaikoz, it will create a new default settings.jai file

Paul

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

I do have "Do local correct on songs that already have a Musicbrainz id" Checked.

I did test as you asked and nothing changed..
Why, "Title Case" is not being applied because in
Preferences\Local Correct\Auto Match\ Do local correct on songs that already have Musicbrainz Id\ is not check!

But if this check box is checked then the "Title Case" function is applied to the field.. and capitalizes letters after the apostrophe.

License Type:Full
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 328
Location: Germany
Offline

Paul,
in MB the title is written with different writings of apostrophe
(copied from MB)
We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye Hex 27
We Just Couldn?t Say Goodbye Hex 92 !!!!!!!

Look at http://musicbrainz.org/recording/91f0f512-14bb-45af-bf6d-9f16a413fcc6

There are many cases in MB where apostrophe is written with hex92 and a discussion in MB-Forum.

using Jaikoz 9.1
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

Oh, thanks nicely tracked down.

Okay so Porthos the problem is the apostrophe logic Capitalizer in Jaikoz only works for proper apostrophes

' (0x27) (Apostrophe)

not

? (0x92) (Quotation mark/Inverted Comma)

(see http://www.aboutmyip.com/AboutMyXApp/AsciiChart.jsp for list)

So I expect I'll change Jaikoz to handle this, but in the meantime you could use Find and Replace to change ? to ' ,and then run the capitalizer

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

Nice job Alfg.. these old eyes didn't or didn?t see the difference.

I added to replacer1 from (0x92) to '
but it doesn't seem to see that character.

License Type:Full
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

Cant the replace be done by jaikoz?

License Type:Full
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

Or just wait for next release.

btw much thanks.

License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

Hi, yes it does work in Find and Replace now within Jaikoz, but need to enter the character itself not 0x92 - that is not understood. Sorry I didn't realize when i posted earlier reply that the forum software is not displaying the inverted apostrophe properly and is just showing a ? but you could just copy and paste the char from AsciiChart link provided and use that in your Find and Replace.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

Raised http://www.jthink.net:8081/browse/JAIKOZ-589

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

I use the actual character but i added to
Preferences\Manipulators\Word Replacer this way jaikoz handles it and i wouldn't have to do manually but Replacer didn't work, then i used the find/replace which did.

as long as a change is coming you might want to look for 0x60, 0x91, & 0x92 for the capitalization routine only

Much Thanks Paul

License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

It doesn't work in Word Replacer because WordReplacer is for replacing replacing words e.g a string of characters separated by white space, a single char inside a word is not a word.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

So if a song isn't found in MB or DL, how does one automatically replace 0x5f (underscore) or more odd ones 0x96, 0x97, and 0xad to a 0x20 (space) ?

License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

You cannot do it fully automatically you need to use Find and Replace but there is an issue open for a Punctuation Replacer http://www.jthink.net:8081/browse/JAIKOZ-15

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

Punctuation Replacer would be a great idea.. i currently use tag & rename for minor fixes and for file naming.

Is the build tracking site (http://www.jthink.net:8081) for just developers or can I vote on some of the issues ?

i.e. are end users involved in that site ?
if so to what extent ?
Thanks

License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7206
Offline

There is only for one developer - me.

Yes please use the issue tracker, I set it up for users to better track their issues, and be aware of existing issues. However because of the cost of the issue tracker software I only have 10 user accounts, and they are all taken so everyone else has to use user with username user and password user . Because of this you can't vote on issues, but you can create issue and comment on issues.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team