[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
AutoCorrect @ MusicBrainz generating "SEVERE" messages at every transaction  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Author Message
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

i've 5.1.1 installed.

i've imported a music collection, and exec'd an "Auto Correct from Music Brainz".

it seems to be progressing -- data's being changed and highlighted in the GUI -- but the shell output displays a constant stream of "SEVERE" messages,

...
20/02/2013 06.15.20:com.jthink.jaikoz.manipulate.musicbrainzhelper.MusicBrainzServerQuery:doQuery:SEVERE: 06:15:20:361:URL Decoded:http://musicbrainz.org/ws/2/recording/167701ea-48be-44c9-8fe7-d5963e28f114?inc=releases media artists
20/02/2013 06.15.21:com.jthink.jaikoz.manipulate.musicbrainzhelper.MusicBrainzServerQuery:doQuery:SEVERE: 06:15:21:361:URL Decoded:http://musicbrainz.org/ws/2/artist/fbaba2b0-3a6f-41b1-9ecd-f89c1a666e99?inc=aliases tags
20/02/2013 06.15.22:com.jthink.jaikoz.manipulate.musicbrainzhelper.MusicBrainzServerQuery:doQuery:SEVERE: 06:15:22:362:URL Decoded:http://musicbrainz.org/ws/2/recording/c5f1924e-cf40-4657-b30e-1ff9c7ac7b98?inc=releases media artists
20/02/2013 06.15.23:com.jthink.jaikoz.manipulate.musicbrainzhelper.MusicBrainzServerQuery:doQuery:SEVERE: 06:15:23:362:URL Decoded:http://musicbrainz.org/ws/2/recording/16df6e9d-33a5-41a3-8349-0bddb615613c?inc=releases media artists
20/02/2013 06.15.24:com.jthink.jaikoz.manipulate.musicbrainzhelper.MusicBrainzServerQuery:doQuery:SEVERE: 06:15:24:362:URL Decoded:http://musicbrainz.org/ws/2/release/07338e83-b752-448e-833f-eb3ec7b5abff?inc=media url-rels labels recordings release-groups artist-rels artist-credits discids tags isrcs recording-rels recording-level-rels work-level-rels release-rels label-rels
...

it doesn't explicitly state these are errors, but SEVERE doesn't appear to be good.

what's the meaning of these "SEVERE" messages, and what, if anything, can/should be done to fix it?

thanks.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7215
Offline

No problem, just logging requests made to MusicBrainz to help me determine problems- I concede it is confusing but SEVERE in logger parlance just means highest priority logging that should always be displayed as opposed to INFO which is less important or even FINEST which is even less.

But these should should get written to a log not console, how are you starting Jaikoz ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
No problem, just logging requests made to MusicBrainz to help me determine problems- I concede it is confusing but SEVERE in logger parlance just means highest priority logging that should always be displayed as opposed to INFO which is less important or even FINEST which is even less.  


ah. not clear which "parlance" you're referring to -- @ app, or @ OS -- but, fwiw, 'SEVERE' and 'FINEST' are not typical log-levels for linux logging. "DEBUG" would be common usage (http://www.kernel.org/doc/man-pages/online/pages/man2/syslog.2.html).

in any case, got it.

paultaylor wrote:
But these should should get written to a log not console, how are you starting Jaikoz ?  


I'm using the Jaikoz-created KDE menu-item, currently in the Launcher Menu tree @

Launcher Menu -> Multimedia -> Media Editing -> Jaikoz Audio Tagger -> Jaikoz

which contains:
Code:
 	General:
 		Name: Jaikoz
 		Description:
 		Comment: Jaikoz Audio Tagger
 		Command: sh "/usr/local/Jaikoz/jaikoz.sh"
 		[X] Enable launch feedback
 		[ ] Place in system tray
 		[ ] Only show in KDE
 		[ ] Hidden entry
 	Advanced
 		Work path: /usr/local/Jaikoz
 		[ ] Run in terminal
 		[ ] Run as different user
 


When I select the menu item from the Launcher Menu, a shell@Konsole opens, and the Jaikoz app is launched.

While the Jaikoz app is running in the GUI, output continues to flow @ the shell.

Having the shell open is an annoyance, but not a problem, really. I haven't yet bothered to figure out WHY the shell opens in the 1st place.
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7215
Offline


ah. not clear which "parlance" you're referring to -- @ app, or @ OS -- but, fwiw, 'SEVERE' and 'FINEST' are not typical log-levels for linux logging. "DEBUG" would be common usage (http://www.kernel.org/doc/man-pages/online/pages/man2/syslog.2.html).
 


Java logging, see:

http://docs.oracle.com/javase/1.4.2/docs/api/java/util/logging/Level.html

What I mean is that you can modify the debug log level between loglevel 1 (FINEST)to log level 7 (SEVERE), so if for example you change loglevel to 4 then it shows levels 4,5,6,7. The messages that are most important to me are the the ones I output as SEVERE. It doesn't mean they are errors as this is the debug log, real errors get output to the user log.

But sounds like there is an error with the KDE shortcut, please raise an issue.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
arby

Pro

Joined: 16/02/2013 12:03:13
Messages: 25
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
But sounds like there is an error with the KDE shortcut, please raise an issue. 


http://jthink.net:8081/browse/JAIKOZ-591

thanks.
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team