[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
artist and artists what is the difference  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Author Message
rpm4fsu

Pro

Joined: 13/12/2007 23:57:37
Messages: 130
Offline

What is the different between artist (no "s") and artists column.

I usually do not show the artists column and this has bit me in the but a couple times. Today is an example. The artist column had Mozart and the artists column had "unknown" and in the column browser section under "Artist" it kept saying I had an artist name of "unknown".

I finally figured out that the "unknown" was in the artists column and once I blanked the cells wit unknown everything was back to normal.

It seems that artists has precedence over artist so what is the purpose and is there a way to not make it have precedence?

Robert
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7547
Offline

Okay, is intended to solve a problem when a song is credited to multiple artists.

So for example 'Jackson' is credited to 'Johnny Cash' & 'June Carter' the artist field would simply contain Johnny Cash' & June Carter as it is displayed on the cover.

However within the Artist grouping of the column browser, we want this song to be listed under the individual artists , so if you just select 'Johnny Cash' then the song is listed, and if you selected 'June Carter' then the song is also listed. We can do this because we also store the artist in the artists field, and here we store each artist as a separate value.

The column browser will always look at the artist field first but if has no value then it will use the artist field for grouping.

But I'm not sure why the two fields have got out of sync, that is clearly problem.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
rpm4fsu

Pro

Joined: 13/12/2007 23:57:37
Messages: 130
Offline

paultaylor wrote:

The column browser will always look at the artist field first but if has no value then it will use the artist field for grouping.
 


You left an "s" off on of the artist above.

In my case I had Mozart in the artist and the word unknown in the artists column. The artists column showed up in the browser section. I had two artists unknown and Mozart.

When I removed the unknow from the artists column did I get just one artist.

Robert

paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7547
Offline

I dont think so unless Ive misunderstood you.

The first artist is bold refers to the artist field, because Im comparing the contents of the artist and artists fields. In your case for that particular song I think it will just categorize it as unknown, because it wouldnt bother looking at the artist field if the artists field had a value.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
rpm4fsu

Pro

Joined: 13/12/2007 23:57:37
Messages: 130
Offline

I have been bitten with this before when they spell Russian composerrs with Cyrillic and put it in the artists field.

Is there any way that I can set jaikoz to not fill in that column so it is always blank or cannot be filled in.

Thanks

Robert
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7547
Offline

No, Unfortunately it doesn't appear to be listed in Preferences:Musicbrainz:AutoFormat/AutoFormat2 because I don't think I wanted you to be able to disable it, but perhaps it is necessary.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
rpm4fsu

Pro

Joined: 13/12/2007 23:57:37
Messages: 130
Offline

Paul,

It is not such a big deal. It is easy to go to the the column header and say empty.

But it would be nice if that column had a "do not populate" button.

Thanks for your time and information.

Robert
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team