[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Title Case and Parentheses  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Author Message
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

Preferences, Local Correct, Auto Format, Capitalization Options, Title Case

When it encounter (misses the first letter after the parentheses)

Results are: (misses The First Letter After The Parentheses)

Title Case needs to ignore Punctuation

Much Thanks

License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Im unclear what you mean, can you give me an example please.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

I did but I try:

if title was:
Be to bad (mixed by norm big)

Title case will change to:
Be To Bad (mixed By Norm Big)

It misses the "m" right after the left parenthesis

or if title had:
Can't stop loving

title case changes to:
Can'T Stop Loving

It caps the "t"

thanks

License Type:Full
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 328
Location: Germany
Offline

The first case with the m (in lower case) and not M (capitalised) after the parantheses is - I think - according to the MusicBrainz StyleGuide.
Style / Titles / Extra title information: http://musicbrainz.org/doc/Style/Titles/Extra_title_information
"Titles of mixes/versions are formatted according to the appropriate language's guidelines; the other parts of this extra information should be in lower case except for words that would normally be capitalised in the language."

The second case I aggree with you.
That is, when the function "Local Correct" changes a typographic apostrophe ? at 0x92 to a typewriter apostrophe ' at code value 0x27 (39).
In my case (Windows 8.1) I get garbage in Windows Explorer at that point in the line where the typographic apostrophe exists, if the folder is a Music-folder (with colums like artist, title, album etc.)
I hope Paul will solve this problem sometimes

using Jaikoz 9.1
Porthos

Pro

Joined: 24/05/2009 10:06:02
Messages: 39
Offline

I should mention that in:
Preferences, Manipulators, Autocorrector, Task order are
Correct Metadata Discogs, MusicBrainz, then all
Local Correct; Artist, Album, Title, Genre, Comments, Track, Year, Artist

So Title Case should be the last to have an effect.

As far as MusicBrainz StyleGuide that is the beauty of Paul's project "Jaikoz"
I can have it the way I want it.. Which is an AWESOME design in the software.

I am hoping it just an over looked scenario.

Don't capitalize after the ' as in Can'T
Nor capitalize after the ( as in (today Is The Day To Smile)


License Type:Full
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline


if title was:
Be to bad (mixed by norm big)

Title case will change to:
Be To Bad (mixed By Norm Big)
 

Now I don't get that I get:
Code:
 Be To Bad (Mixed By Norm Big) 
 


What happens if you right click on the field and select Capitalizer/TitleCase ?


That is, when the function "Local Correct" changes a typographic apostrophe ? at 0x92 to a typewriter apostrophe ' at code value 0x27 (39).
 


Yes, I think you mean 0x2019, I can replicate this rare case with that apostrophe, no problem with the usual 0x0027. The question is do we simply want title case to treat the the same regarding capitalization or would it be better to replace instances of 0x2019 with 0x0027 - I can raise an issue one we are clear on the best solution.

Paul


thanks Paul (Administrator)
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 328
Location: Germany
Offline

Paul take a look here
http://musicbrainz.org/release-group/b080221e-50e3-4984-95c2-4592d441fa88/edits
and here
http://forums.musicbrainz.org/viewtopic.php?pid=23577#p23577
maybe here too
http://musicbrainz.org/release-group/8e309bda-4d77-47b2-b72f-05f616f6accf/edits

Some users changing the typewriter apostrophe hex 27 to typographic apostrophe hex 92 in many recodings in MusicBrainz.
And that is too bad for me because of the Windows 7/8/8.1 problem. Maybe they're using a Mac and there they have no problems.
In my case (Windows 8.1) I get garbage in Windows Explorer at that point in the line where the typographic apostrophe exists, if the folder is a Music-folder (with colums like artist, title, album etc.)  

using Jaikoz 9.1
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Sorry your right, for some reason I couldn't seem to get 0x92 displaying as an apostrophe in Jaikoz but can now.

So the problem occurs for this as well, but what is your preferred solution ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
greengeek

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 18/09/2007 02:50:48
Messages: 435
Offline

I would love the option for it to switch to the normal apostrophe. When I see this happen, I usually just go in and delete the apostrophe and the uppercase char and retype them in with the apostrophe that is on the keyboard and the lower case character.

KevinBluemel.com
Contemporary Instrumental Musician and Composer. Stop by to listen, watch videos, and get free downloads of songs and sheet music.
[WWW]
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Actually its already fixed for 0x0092

See http://jthink.net:8081/browse/JAIKOZ-589

but I'll extend to 0x2019

and raised new issue for replacing the apostrophes with simple versions

http://jthink.net:8081/browse/JAIKOZ-830

thanks Paul (Administrator)
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 328
Location: Germany
Offline

I would love the option for it to switch to the normal apostrophe. When I see this happen, I usually just go in and delete the apostrophe and the uppercase char and retype them in with the apostrophe that is on the keyboard and the lower case character.  


I agree with greengeek and do the same when I see a typographic apostrophe

using Jaikoz 9.1
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

I know it's a bit off topic since the issue here is Parantheses, but I was wondering if anyone knew how to make the program capitalize after " ?
I was just processing a fairly big chunck of music files and lots of them contain " in it, but it ended up putting lowercase on the first letter right after the ".
Example: - This is what the program produced
''dark Themes...'' (From ''rust In Peace'' Promotional Interview With Del James)

-this is what I'm after:
''Dark Themes...'' (From ''Rust In Peace'' Promotional Interview With Del James)

help anyone?
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

and tbis is after you run what command:

Capitalise, Correct from MusicBrainz, Autocorrect ?



thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

This is after I run Capitalize and or Autocorrect...
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

So if you just run Capitalize it fails, and what Capitalize option do you use because it seems to work for me.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

I use the Title Case option, but right after I run it, it gives me back small cases after the "
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Hi, the problem is you are actually using two single quotes (0x027) rather than one double quote (0x22), is this manually entered because I cannot find a match on MusicBrainz.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

Hello, this was already like this, but I could try replacing it just to make sure it is " and not '+'
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

It definitently is single quotes, this is your example paste from above

''dark Themes...''

and this is with double quotes

"dark Themes..."

in your example you can select each quote individually , in the second one you cannot.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

You are 100% correct, thank you very much Sir, now this creates a different problem, the " symbol is now deleted from the file name once I run autocorrect, eventhough I have removed the " from the Punctuation Remover list, any ideas as to why is this happening?
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Have the songs been matched to Musicbrainz ?

Im not sure but you can run the tasks separately in the Autocorrecter to pinpoint the problematic task.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

No they haven't, the autocorrect on my copy of the software corrects only localy, meaning, it just formats as I pre set it to do. The names on the files come direct from the ripping of the Cd...
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Okay so what task makes them disappear 'Local Correct Title' ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

I wish I knew, I just tried to attach a .jpg screen capture of the settings but it doesn't let me upload the attachment..
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Well just run Edit/Local Correct/Local Correct Title, does it remove the double quotes ?

thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

No, I just did as you say, but still the " stay only within the title tag, but not in the file name...
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Sorry I missed the bit about the problem only being in the filename, Double quote is an illegal character in filenames that is why it is removed.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
retzel

Enthusiast

Joined: 05/07/2013 12:20:13
Messages: 16
Offline

Ohhhh well, that explains it now, doesn't it? Silly me, but hey, thanks for trying and for clearingthe first topic and the big help with the first problem....
greengeek

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 18/09/2007 02:50:48
Messages: 435
Offline

In SK I see it is still adding quotes and double quotes. They appear to be the non standard quotes and double quotes on some titles. This is throwing off the file names from staying within the windows charset.

For example this release, http://musicbrainz.org/release/ec37dd2b-3afd-4362-a70a-9f6fa94b932b SK let through all the quotes and double quotes in the file names.

I use ampache to stream my music and it is extremely picky on making sure one uses the correct encoding to match the file system charset (another reason I need to move it to linux and not on my windows server, damn windows and their not 100% utf-8 filesystems).

KevinBluemel.com
Contemporary Instrumental Musician and Composer. Stop by to listen, watch videos, and get free downloads of songs and sheet music.
[WWW]
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7248
Offline

Okay I raised http://jthink.net:8081/browse/SONGKONG-620

thanks Paul (Administrator)
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Issues
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team