[Logo] Jaikoz and SongKong Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
Edit and ID3 Edit tabs show different  XML
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Author Message
MrMrMr

Pro

Joined: 23/08/2010 05:47:09
Messages: 20
Offline

Why does "ID3 Edit" tab show different tabs to the "Edit" one. I mean for example not all the tabs in ID3 edit show in the edit one, I thought the edit one showed all tags? e.g. "not supported" label is in ID3 but not edit?

Its just I had a lot of unknown "unsupported" garbage in that label, from Amazon purchased music.

thanks
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7510
Offline

The Edit tab is a representation of a songs metadata mapped to a generic view valid for all formats (mp3s, mp4, flac etc).

Mp3s actually use an ID3 tag to store the metadata, and for mp3s you can see what is actually in the ID3 tag, the mapping is not one to one for example ID3 uses the User Defined Text Information Frame for storing all types if different information such as almost all the Musicbrainz Ids.

The Not Supported columns hows data stored in the mp3 that Jaikoz doesn't support editing of, this is why it is not displayed in the Edit tab but you can delete it via the ID3 Edit if required.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
MrMrMr

Pro

Joined: 23/08/2010 05:47:09
Messages: 20
Offline

Thanks Paul, very techno, I'm a little lost!

So basically I'll have to strip out stuff I don't want, just in between the two tabs I think. I use iTunes, and iPhones/iPads so only want basic stuff in, album, artist, lyrics, album art, and none of the extended stuff like ID, comments, amazon no etc.
Alfg

Pro

Joined: 20/10/2009 15:32:35
Messages: 330
Location: Germany
Offline

@MrMrMr
If you want to delete information in ID3 tag you don't like, you can reorder the columns in the ID3-Edit window in a way that all columnes you don't like stand side by side and then click the left top cell and shift click the right lower cell. Then in the context-menue click "delete" or use the shortcut of that command.

using Jaikoz 9.3.0 NGS
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7510
Offline

MrMrMr

Are we talking about stuff already in the files or stuff that Jaikoz adds, you can modify what fields Jaikoz adds in Preferences:MusicBrainz:Format, Format 2 and Preferences:Remote Correct:Discogs

Everything that Jaikoz does add is available in the main edit tab you don't need to use the ID3 Edit tab.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
MrMrMr

Pro

Joined: 23/08/2010 05:47:09
Messages: 20
Offline

paultaylor wrote:
MrMrMr

Are we talking about stuff already in the files or stuff that Jaikoz adds, you can modify what fields Jaikoz adds in Preferences:MusicBrainz:Format, Format 2 and Preferences:Remote Correct:Discogs

Everything that Jaikoz does add is available in the main edit tab you don't need to use the ID3 Edit tab. 

Basically all my music is tagged the way I want it already to show in iTunes and on my iOS devices. So when I click "get info" in iTunes on a song it displays the info I need, album, name, artwork, lyrics.

Opening up Jaikoz in either the ID3 or edit tag obviously shows up aot more tags that have stuff in there (Amazon ID, comments etc), and I want rid of all these.

So Jaikoz doesn't really need to tag anything as such I just want to get rid of the info in the tags that I don't need. So does the edit tag show everything (all available tags) in an MP3 file?

I can then just load up my MP3's (how many at a time?) and highlight the column that I want to empty if rogue info.

Sorry of I havent been clear, hope this helps
Thanks
paultaylor

Pro
[Avatar]

Joined: 21/08/2006 09:21:27
Messages: 7510
Offline

By default neither tab shows all fields you need to enable them with Preferences:Table:Columns (Edit Tab) and Preferences:Table:ID3 (ID3 Edit Tab)

Having done that the Edit tab shows all fields that Jaikoz understands, but fields it doesn't understand are not shown. Whereas for mp3s all fields are shown because we also have the extra Not Supported and Unknown List fields.

thanks Paul (Administrator)
 
Forum Index -> Jaikoz Questions
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.6 © JForum Team